Play Time With DCOTA


Fashion designers often find inspiration in the works of interior designers, so I was more than thrilled when DCOTA (Design Center Of The Americas) Invited me  to be part of their fashion show and asked me to create two outfits inspired by an interior designer and his fabrics. They paired me with John Roselli & associates showroom and with the works of John Robshaw,who is famous for his woodblock printing techniques, his mix of fabrics and textures and his perfect use of color; Take a look at some of his ads below; I love them for being so quirky, fun and different! and of course, they remind me of India and that I really need to go there soon.

Image

Image

To me this project is a lot of fun and although it is definitely out of my comfort zone because I rarely work with prints, I’m sure it will push me to create something outside of the box. It took me seconds to take inspiration from the fabrics (all hand printed in India) and pictures from John Robshaw’s blog and ads!

red_split


REDS_B_1


John Robshaw

John Robshaw

John Robshaw

The fashion show will be in two weeks on January 30th, but I wanted to give you a little sneak peek of the finished sketches! Take a look and wish me luck, because crazy work weeks are coming up!

Carolina Benoit - John Robshaw Illustration

dcota3_effected

dcota2_effected
I hope you find inspiration in John’s work as well, maybe to try a little woodblock printing, or design out of you comfort zone some amazing print clashing outfits!

♣Wish Me Luck♣

XOXO

Carolina

Leave a comment